About Dossy

What is this page for?

It’s a merciless refactoring of all the various profiles that I’ve created on the various social networking websites that I’ve been on over time.

So, who is Dossy?

Since a picture is supposedly worth a thousand words, here’s some bang for my buck:

(November 2003)

I’m a short (5’2″ / 157cm), fat (195lbs / 88kg), long shoulder length black hair, nearsighted (-5.5 diopter) with glasses, Asian-American, living in Butler, NJ, US.

If you want to know more, keep reading.

What’s with the troll?

Which one? Oh, do you mean, this one:

(ca. 1996)

That’s one sexy troll, isn’t it? Someday, I aspire to be even half as sexy as my troll.

More seriously, when I first started out on bulletin board systems (BBSes) back in the late 1980’s, the thought of random strangers and the menagerie of freaks that I’d interact with knowing what I looked like was disturbing. Perhaps that was just my own foolish paranoia, but after all these years, I don’t regret it. I avoided a lot of problems, thanks to the troll.

So, in general, when a website asks for a picture to represent you on their site, you’ll see the troll. For all intents and purposes, it’s me.

What is Dossy doing these days?

Well, I work for the world’s oldest media company in a division which is the world’s largest Internet access provider. Yes, I work for AOL/Time Warner, where my primary responsibility is hacking on AOLserver. It’s a great job and I work with great people and it pays well.

Update: As of November 2006, I no longer work for AOL.

I work for a small security appliance startup called TrustELI, Inc.. It’s an all-in-one 4-port switch, wireless access point, DSL modem, firewall, anti-virus, anti-spam, web content filter appliance. They’re centrally managed through a monthly subscription service so your anti-virus definitions are always kept up to date. It’s a great solution for the non-technical consumer who needs comprehensive threat protection without needing to learn everything about Internet safety and security and how to set it up themselves. You just plug it in and go.

As of June 2010, I’m now running Panoptic.com full-time.

Outside of work, I’m a husband and a father. Here are my girls:

(December 2004)

My daughters will be five years old and two years old respectively this coming February 2005. I am always interested in meeting new families in the area to get our kids together for play-dates. If you have kids around the same age and would like to meet, definitely let me know!

(June 2007)

I’d like to chat online with you. How can I get in touch with you?

I’m reachable on most major instant messaging (IM) networks. Here’s the list, in order of preference, now sorely out of date as of August 2021:

Warning: I rarely ever use ICQ. If you send me a message there, don’t be surprised if I never get it. You’ve been warned.

I still have unanswered questions! What should I do?

Feel free to email me: dossy@panoptic.com.