In the middle of an IM conversation with Reginald, I realized:
- Develop a sub-$100 laptop.
- Create a huge number of new web surfers with said laptop.
- Serve them CPC and CPM ads.
Suppose the laptop’s useful life span is 3 years. Is a pair of eyeballs (with respect to ad revenue) worth over $100 in that time? If so, this becomes an easily sustainable business, assuming web ad revenues continue to grow or at least stay at their current levels.
This is the latest incarnation of “sweatshop labor.” Exploitation 2.0.